TU Men Roll Past No. 20 MVNU for Season Sweep of Cougars


MOUNT VERNON, Ohio – The Taylor men’s basketball team scored its sixth win over a team ranked or receiving votes in the Top-25 Poll this season and finished a season sweep of Mount Vernon Nazarene with a 94-79 win on the No. 20 Cougars’ home court Saturday.


The Trojans also improved to 5-5 against teams in the NAIA Top-25 Poll since January 1 and climbed to within a single game of fourth place in the Crossroads League standings with the key road victory.


Taylor had its way on Saturday at Mount Vernon Nazarene (19-9, 7-9 CL), never trailing in the contest and drilling a season-best 14 triples while shooting 60.0 percent from the floor for the second-straight game. TU also piled up 18 assists to just 11 turnovers and topped the Cougars by eight on the glass.


Mason Degenkolb opened the scoring with a three-pointer and then scored five-straight points after MVNU had drawn even at 9-9. That would be the only time the hosts held a share of the lead, as Degenkolb’s stretch gave TU a 14-9 lead that quickly swelled to 22-11 on eight points from CJ Penha and Ryan Robinson.


Taylor continued to pour it on while pushing the gap to 51-29 near the end of the opening half and never allowing Mount Vernon Nazarene any closer than 13 points throughout the final stanza.


Penha recorded his third-straight double-double and his 10th of the season with 25 points and 10 rebounds, while hitting nine-of-16 shots and four-of-eight treys. Degenkolb also surpassed the 20-point mark for the fifth time in six outings with 23.


Robinson hit four-of-six threes for 17 points and dished out a season-high seven assists and Jason Hubbard finished with 14 points, eight rebounds and a career-best six helpers.


Taylor (15-13, 7-9 CL) will return to action on Tuesday at 7:00 pm when it heads to Huntington (14-14, 6-10 CL) for another critical Crossroads League clash.



Taylor Men’s Basketball All-Time Scoring Leaders at a Glance

1 – Jim Bushur (1985-88) – 2213
2 – Casey Coons (2009-13) – 2138
3 – Forrest Jackson (1950-54) – 2059
4 – Eric Ford (2002-06) – 2023
5 – David Wayne (1988-92) – 1905
6 – Chuck Taylor (1965-69) – 1897
7 – Mason Degenkolb (2016-Pres) – 1857
8 – Ralph Gee (1983-87) – 1816
9 – Steve Mozingo (1990-94) – 1790
10 – Ryan Robinson (2016-Pres) – 1743