ATLANTA – Indiana guards sophomore Grace Berger and redshirt junior Ali Patberg have been named region finalist for the 2020 Women’s Basketball Coaches Association NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America. The duo is part of 10 players selected from Region 4. The selection committee will select the 10-member WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team from these 52 candidates.

Patberg led Hoosiers with 15.6 points and 5.3 assists per game, earning All-Big Ten honors and finishing as one of 10 finalists for the Nancy Lieberman Award for the nation’s top point guard. She started in all 32 games where she also added 4.6 rebounds per game, shot 49 percent from the floor and 38.6 percent from the 3-point line. In addition, the redshirt junior guard dished out 168 assists this season, which ranks fourth in a single season in school history, as she also held a +2.2 assist-to-turnover ratio. Patberg scored in double figures 26 times including the last 15 consecutive games, scored 20 or more points seven times and led the team in scoring in 18 games. The Columbus, Ind. native was also a variety of national award lists this season including the Wooden Award watch list, Naismith Trophy watch list and midseason team, Ann Meyers Drysdale Award watch list.

In a breakout sophomore campaign, Berger was the team’s second leading scorer with 13.1 points per game which led to All-Big Ten first team honors. The Louisville, Ky. native also averaged 5.2 rebounds, 3.5 assists and a team-high 1.4 steals per game while she paced IU in scoring five times and had four 20-point or more scoring games. Berger shot 45.6 percent from the floor and 76.9 percent from the free throw line while scoring in double figures 21 times. She improved her scoring by 7.6 points from her freshman season while also tripling her made 3-pointers this season.

The 2020 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team will be announced Thursday, April 2.


Bella Alarie

Princeton University

Bre Cavanaugh

Fordham University

Elissa Cunane

North Carolina State University

Nicki Ekhomu

Florida State University

Dana Evans

University of Louisville

Kiah Gillespie

Florida State University

Haley Gorecki

Duke University

Stella Johnson

Rider University

Jazmine Jones

University of Louisville

Beatrice Mompremier

University of Miami

Jocelyn Willoughby

University of Virginia


Aliyah Boston

University of South Carolina

Jessika Carter

Mississippi State University

Chennedy Carter

Texas A&M University

Rennia Davis

University of Tennessee

Tyasha Harris

University of South Carolina

Rhyne Howard

University of Kentucky

Rickea Jackson

Mississippi State University

Erica Ogwumike

Rice University

Chelsey Perry

University of Tennessee at Martin

Alexis Tolefree

University of Arkansas


Brittany Brewer

Texas Tech University

Te’a Cooper

Baylor University

Lauren Cox

Baylor University

Crystal Dangerfield

University of Connecticut

Vivian Gray

Oklahoma State University

Keri Jewett-Giles

Florida Gulf Coast University

Ashley Joens

Iowa State University

Antoinette Miller

University of Cincinnati

Olivia Nelson-Ododa

University of Connecticut

NaLyssa Smith

Baylor University

Ilmar’l Thomas

University of Cincinnati

Megan Walker

University of Connecticut

Christyn Williams

University of Connecticut


Grace Berger

Indiana University

Kaila Charles

University of Maryland

Kathleen Doyle

University of Iowa

Arella Guirantes

Rutgers University

Naz HIllmon

University of Michigan

Becca Hittner

Drake University

Dorka Juhasz

Ohio State University

Ali Patberg

Indiana University

Lindsey Pulliam

Northwestern University

Chante Stonewall

DePaul University


Ruthy Hebard

University of Oregon

Sabrina Ionescu

University of Oregon

Aari McDonald

University of Arizona

Michaela Onyenwere

University of California – Los Angeles

Mikayla Pivec

Oregon State University

Satou Sabally

University of Oregon

Destiny Slocum

Oregon State University

Kiana Williams

Stanford University

The selection committee uses an equation to determine an equitable number of finalists from each region. The number of NCAA Division I institutions in each region is divided by the number of NCAA Division I institutions overall to determine a percentage for each region. This percentage is then multiplied by 52 (the total number of desired finalists) to get the number of finalists for each region.